Summer Rainbow Collage Illustration: Copic Markers and Watercolor Layout

SUMMER RAINBOW

 


 

Rainbow Girl wip 11


Hey everyone,

Hope your week is going productively so far. I spent so long yesterday on the computer doing boring admin jobs that I had to take some creative time off in the evening. It’s been a while since I’ve created a collage/layered illustration and I saw on the Up&Scrap blog that they were hosting a challenge for June and the theme was rainbow colors. I had this layout idea pop right into my head and I reached for my watercolors and markers as soon as I closed the webpage! It was lovely after a long day at the screen to spend several hours coloring away, listening to some music:) Up&Scrap for those of you who don’t know is a marvellous online scrapbook and crafts supply store. They stock everything possible, including lots of American brands and ship to several countries in Europe. Anyway not to be become a commercial (they are my favorite store) but back to the illustration. I knew from the beginning that I was going to use all the rainbow colors so I wanted to create a bright and colorful background. I started with my Japanese watercolors (all the supplies I used are listed at the end of this post if you’re interested) and just painted a simple triangle pattern, alternating the rainbow colors. The whole time I was painting I kept having to repeat to myself “Richard of York gave battle in vain” in order to remember the color order. I think the rhyme varies from country to country but this is the very English one I learnt when I was small:)



After the background was dry I attached it to a square of buttercup yellow card stock, did a little distressing to the edges with the spiced marmalade ink and then added a yellow square in the center to act as a base for my focal points. Those focal points took me ages to color in and cut out but I was so thankful that I didn’t have to draw each one from scratch. A couple of weeks back I printed out a load of my digital stamps and stored them all in a folder, so picking a few to use in this project was blissfully simple.  I used copic markers to do the coloring and tried to keep to the main rainbow color scheme, while adding enough shading and depth so that the flowers stood out from the background. After all the elements where ready I put together the illustration and added a couple of stickers. My handwriting is too bad for words, so I always like to used stickers or stamps to write anything.


Rainbow Girl wip 7.jpg

Rainbow Girl wip 10

Rainbow Girl wip 12


So that’s my mid week creation and entry for Up&Scrap’s June challenge. It was very relaxing to work on and I love all the bright colors, they may be a bit too much for some but not for me;)

Have a creative week and keep your pencils sharp. I’m trying to get back into posting here on the blog so hopefully I’ll post again very soon,

Maisie – Ma’at Silk


Supplies Used:

  • Gansai Tambi Watercolors
  • Canson Mixed Media Paper
  • Yellow Card Stock
  • Flowers Digital Stamps – Etsy Link
  • Leaves Digital Stamps – Etsy Link
  • Zoe Digital Stamp – from A-Z set – Etsy Link
  • Copic Markers
  • Posca White Pen
  • Distress Ink: Spiced Marmalade
  • Scissors
  • Paint Brush
  • Double Sided Tape
  • 3D Foam Squares
  • Stickers from Petticoats & Pinstripes collection by Eco Park Paper Co.

Mi entrada para el reto de junio – Up and Scrap – #SonrieMolasMucho

I'd love to hear your comments!

