The Wishing Bag – Spring- Number Six – Interview with WitchCorner – Hand Painted Glass, Ceramics and Home Décor

Spring is blooming all around us and so I went to see Witch Corner

Glass Triangle in Yellow with a Daisy by Witch Corner

 Sun light dancing on the water. A flower stands by the water’s edge. Leaning over ever so slightly, it looks over. Pretty white petals move in the wind. A deep yellow centre holds her together. So frail and fragile her petals look. Yet Daisy is strong and hardy. She moves this way and that. How pretty her reflection is. So bold and simple are her colours. To the left and right the poppies and daffodils exchange glances. It must be spring again.   

This is without a doubt my favourite piece from this week’s feature shop. I love this necklace pictured above because is sleek, uncluttered, bold and yellow. Have I ever told you that yellow is my favourite colour? Well it is. I love yellow. It’s happy, sunny and it’s yellow.  .  . yellow . . .  Anyway getting back on track and away from my yellow mania . . .  I also love the necklace because it’s a wearable piece of art. All the pieces of art from this week’s shop are unique and beautiful, each exemplifying the maker’s talent, style and enjoyment of her craft. Somehow you can always tell when an artist has really enjoyed creating their piece; it somehow shines out and waves at you. And that pretty much goes for everything from this weeks’ shop.

For the final shop in this year’s spring series I would like (insert drum roll here) to introduce you all to Witch Corner.  The shop opened in the spring of 2011 and is based in Stoke Gifford, England.  The shop sells a variety of hand painted and hand crafted items, from painted wines glasses and teal light holders to decoupage door knobs and wooden boxes. Its owner, designer and maker Andrea creates each object herself, matching her perfect colour sense and romantic style to bring her designs to life.  Many of her designs are floral and nature inspired with flowers and leaves boldly traveling over the glass or ceramic surface, outlined with raised contours and filled with iridescent colours.

I first discovered Witch Corner via Instagram and was instantly struck by the array of shimmering colours. They leapt right off my ipod screen and danced before my eyes.  For a brief moment it was like being back inside the cathedral at Charters in France and staring up once again at the magnificent stained glass window. There is a wistful stained glass element to much of Andrea’s work and I loved her strong and flowing designs. The ability to look at an artists work and be reminded of another time and place, something that is unique to your memories, is one of my favourite things about art.

Another important element of Witch Corner is that while each product is a work on art in its own right, they are all useful and can be a part of your every daily life. We all need glasses to drink out, hangers to hang our clothes from and mugs to hold our morning coffee etc. Here you can make your whole home into an art gallery, by brightening up your cupboards with some decoupage handles, or keeping odds and ends in a decoupage box. The wine glasses and mugs on your shelf could now sport bright and cheerful designs.  Incorporating functional pieces of art into your life and home.  This to me is important and truly useful.

In Spain we don’t really have the four normal seasons. Just a long dry summer and a wet (and slightly colder) period. Most of the trees are evergreens and the ones that do lose their leaves, do so in the summer when they are shrivelled into dust by the sun.  Spring lasts about a month, just after the rain and before the hot sun. It’s beautiful. Hillsides covered in wild flowers, sunny barmy picnic weather, bees, sweet fragrance. As the wild flowers are beginning to appear, I decided to celebrate my favourite time and do another round of handmade shops.  Everyone has their own way of viewing their art, colours and feelings on Spring, so I look forward to all the different answers.  Lets see what Andrea  says!

Interview with Andrea, 

Hand Painted Wine Glasses by Witch Corner

What led you to painting glass?

I have been crafting from a young age working with lots of different techniques, however I have found that the one that suits me the most is glass panting. I like the touch and feel of glass and find it a very feminine, soft and ‘fragile’ texture. I enjoy painting my designs on glass items to make them each into unique versions of my style.

Decoupage Wooden Door Knobs by Witch Corner

What’s your favourite or most rewarding part of your process?

My favourite process is the painting itself. I have been painting for 14 years and haven’t got bored or tired of it, it still excites me every day.
The most rewarding part of the process is the feedback I get from customers. It is such a rewarding and mind blowing experience when customers call me a “talented artist”. It is always an honour when they say they are going to “treasure” my artwork however what would make me happiest is if they made use of my products every day as my aim is to add something special to their daily life.

Hand painted Teal Light Holder by Witch Corner

Inspiration?

My inspiration comes from my surroundings. I love nature and flowers. Even just the colours and textures of certain things often inspire me.

Hand Painted Porcelain Cup by Witch Corner

Are colours important to your work? If so which are the ones you use most and why?

Yes. I used to think I had a favourite colour but since I have been painting, I have realised that I love all colours and they are all very important and powerful parts of an artwork. Therefore, I make use of a range of different colours in my products.

Hand Painted Wine Glass by Witch Corner

Do you have a favourite product in your shop?

I always have favourites, currently they are my newest products, the light catchers/candle holders. My other favourites are my embroidery design glasses and my cross stitch mugs.

Hand Painted Glass Teal Light Holder by Witch Corner

What do you like best about Spring?

This is an easy answer. I love spring because it is finally sunny, flowers are blooming and nature finally comes to life. I love seeing the different colours of green in nature and listening to bird songs. I feel like along with nature, I also come to life and I feel more energetic and inspired in spring time.

Thank you Andrea from Witch Corner! 

That’s it for the fifth in this series! Don’t forget to check out the Shop and you can also find her on Facebook and Instagram @witchcorner

That’s it for this series. The last six weeks have flown by so quickly and I’ve really enjoyed sharing and writing about this collection of shops. Hopefully I will run a “summer” series of shop in August. . . work load permitting.  Anyway I hope you’ve enjoyed discovering all the wonderful handmade creations and reading the articles.  I’ll see you all next Saturday!

Have a creative day!

Maisie

FIN

One thought on “The Wishing Bag – Spring- Number Six – Interview with WitchCorner – Hand Painted Glass, Ceramics and Home Décor

  1. Andrea Bodnar says:

    Dear Maisie

    Lovely post, you have written some beautiful things, it has really made my day 🙂

    Andrea @witchcorner

I'd love to hear your comments!

