Welcome to the Annual Wishing Bag Series – Number One – Interview with Pinara Design – Handmade Crochet Jewellery

Spring Shops Banner copy

Spring is in the air so I went to see Pinara Deisgn

 

 

Tulip Necklace by Pinara Design

Ruins lying in the desert. Crumbling stones, half covered in sand. Blocks and slabs lie where they fell. Bits of bright colour still cling in places. Faded frescos of people long ago. Carved faces peak out of the dust. Winged and horned creatures appear round corners. The wind whispers through the cracks in the stones. Telling stories of times long since past.  A kings palace it once had been. Tall is had stood under the sun. Mighty and strong. No army could take it. No earthquake could shake it. But that was long ago. Time had past by. Years and ages of men gone. Worn away by time and covered by sand. Only the wise men know of it now. “

This first image that I have chosen as the feature product of this post sums up all the elements I love about Pinara Design, the necklace is bold, colourful, striking, unusual, beautiful, detailed, skilled and is inspired by ancient history (The tulip motifs is based on the Hatayi tiles in the Rustem Pasa Mosque in Istanbul). All those elements drew to this unusual shop.

For my first shop of this series I’d like to introduce you all this lovely shop: Pinara Design“. It is filled head to toe with crochet jewellery, scarves and bags. Pinara Design opened in the early spring of 2011 and is based in Turkey. It’s designer and maker Pinar started making crochet jewellery about 15 years ago, using traditional techniques, including the Anatolian crochet “Oya”. Along with her husband, who takes all the wonderful photographs, Pinar takes inspiration from ancient cultures and historical sites and brings the ancient world into modern times and gives it a new life through her designs. The shops sells a variety of different crochet designs including rings, earrings, necklaces, barefoot sandals, cuffs and bracelets. As I looked round her shop, it felt like I was walking into a colourful market place, where colours and spices fill your senses. The colours are overwhelming and trying to chose something is almost impossible. Every time you find something you like, there is something even better next to it.

Archaeology and Ancient History have always been a huge source of inspiration for me. I love visiting sites and museums to see the wonderful ancient objects. When I first found this shop on Etsy last year, I was drawn right in, not only by the bright array of colours but by the historical background to the designs and technique. It was great to find another artist who looks backwards in time and admires the ancient world as much as I do.

I have always have a love hate relationship with jewellery, earrings especially. On the whole I don’t wear any, this is often because I don’t like the feel of cold metal against my skin but as I live out in the countryside, gardening and mud don’t mix well with gold and silver. Anyway earrings have always been the biggest problem for me. I don’t have pierced ears so buying them in highstreet shops is really hard and if I ever bought a pair I would have to take them off after about half an hour because they were making my ears and head hurt. I decided to buy a pair of earrings from Pinara Design and see if they were any better for me. I was so thrilled with the result. I wore them for 6 hours straight and as they are so light, I never noticed I was wearing them. No headaches just lots of compliments. If you’re looking for a special gift, or just want to treat yourself to a stylish piece of jewellery, then maybe Pinara Design is just what you’ve been looking for.

In Spain we don’t really have the four normal seasons. Just a long dry summer and a wet (and slightly colder) period. Most of the trees are evergreens and the ones that do lose their leaves, do so in the summer when they are shriveled into dust by the sun.  Spring lasts about a month, just after the rain and before the hot sun. It’s beautiful. Hillsides covered in wild flowers, sunny barmy picnic weather, bees, sweet fragrance. As the wild flowers are beginning to appear, I decided to celebrate my favourite time and do another round of handmade shops.  Everyone has their own way of viewing their art, colours and feelings on Spring, so I look forward to all the different answers.  Lets see what Pinar says!

Interview with Pinar,

Tassel Earrings from Pinara Design

 

What led you to crochet and making jewellery?

 

I was born and raised in the beautiful and historic city of Istanbul, Turkey.
I am blessed with wonderfully artistic parents and a younger sister whom my best friend. My father is a graphic designer and my mother is a ceramics artist and a sculptor. I am also attended the same university and received two degrees; one in Printing Technology and the other in Graphic Design. Art is always in my life. I grew with art and at the end I became an artist. I worked as an art director for many years in Istanbul. After my husband and I left our jobs and lives in fast paced Istanbul we decided moved to the seaside city of Antalya in Mediterranean region of Turkey and opened our Etsy shop. This is when my colorful journey begins.

Our intention is revive some forgotten designs of the past by using eco-friendly materials on jewelry. Diversity of Anatolian history and artistic creations are giving me the opportunity for using different techniques and materials. But especially I prefer an ancient Anatolian crochet technique that called ‘Turkish lace’ or ‘Oya’ which is date back as far as the 8th century B.C., Phrygia, Anatolia. Each of my design come to life with combination of ancient crochet tecnique and art motifs, therefore there are many many historical tales behind my designs.

And why jewelry ? I love wearing jewelry. I can’t imagine go outside without jewelry. For me jewelry is not only an accessory for complete my outfit also the way express myself.
Art, history and jewelry … these are always in my life and they are main ingredients of Pinara Design.

.

Red Victorian Bracelet by Pinara Design

What’s your favourite or most rewarding part of your process?

Exploring and creation… these are heart of my designs. I love creative process and researching; matching colors and combine them with different motifs. There are amazing historical sites around Antalya. Many ancient civilizations have been here including Lycia, Hittite, Pamphylia, Byzantine, Seljuk, Ottoman … We explore these ancient sites and draw upon their inspiratıon. Also we search for different Turkish traditional fabrics which are slowly being forgotten. I think we have much to learn from ancient history and art that is around us.

I feel that I am still growing and learning more with each of my designs. During the day a lot of motifs and colors are floating around in my head. I love challenge on finding new motifs. Sometimes I work through a design in my head for weeks until I finally pick up my hook and threads… and the magic begins.

.

Crochet Jewelry by Pinara Design

Inspiration?

I always interest in history and ancient art. Especially Anatolian and Mediterranean history have been including many many ancient civilizations… These amazing civilizations are my inspiration sources. Iznik and Seljuk tiles, Lycian reliefs, Anatolian kilims, Hittites figures, Byzantine mosaics… these diversity of ancient art is fascinate me.
That’s why we named our shop Pinara Design. Pinara means ’round’ in the ancient Lycia language and it’s the name of a beautiful Lycia site in the Mediterranean region of Turkey. It was settled around 5th century BC in the Xanthus valley and one of the important cities of the Lycia Federation. Its name references apparently to the rounded shape of the precipitous hill on which the city originally stood.

.

Crochet Lace Daisy Ring by Pinara Design

Are colours important to your work? If so which are the ones you use most and why?

Colors are particular characteristics of my designs. Especially I love using ethnic style bold and contrast colors. I think using these bold colors is the way express my artistic side of me and my character.

.

Do you have a favourite product in your shop?

Well, this is the hardest question to answer. It’s really hard to choose one for me.
My last favorite design is from my last collection, Tassel Statement with Tulip Pendant.
The crochet tulip motif is from Hatayi tile motifs of Rustem Pasa Mosque at Istanbul.  (This is the first featured image.)

.

Crochet Lace Necklace by Pinara Design

What do you like best about Spring?

I am a spring child. My birthday is April 13th. Spring is my recharge season. After a wet and cold winter,
every spring I feel reborn and refresh like how nature awakes her long sleep and begin shine.
All bitter orange trees blossom in here and whole city wear a sweet parfume. And my lovely black bird couple visit our garden again. Believe me, listening their songs whole season like living in a fairy tale. Yesss spring is my season.

Thank you Pinar from PinaraDesign 

That’s it for the first in this series!  Don’t forget to check out the Shop  and Blog and you can also find Pinar on Facebook , Pinterest, Tumblr and Instagram @pinaradesign

Check back next Saturday for the nest shop in this series! As a “spring child” myself I love this time of year and I look forward to sharing the rest of the shops with you all.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

2 thoughts on “Welcome to the Annual Wishing Bag Series – Number One – Interview with Pinara Design – Handmade Crochet Jewellery

I'd love to hear your comments!

