Week Two – Plate Two – “Arabian Dreams” – Hand Painted Decorative Plate by Ma’at Silk.

Here is the second commissioned plate. I’ve nicknamed it “Arabian Dreams”. I think this is my favorite so far. I love the soft sandy colours and the Turkish style motifs. I am particularly pleased with the main background colour, I spent quite a while mixing pinks, orange and yellow to get the shade exactly right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maat Silk Plate

Maat Silk Plate


 

It took me about two and a half hours to paint and had two separate drying stages, plus a baking session in the oven – which makes it microwave safe, however it’s not officially food safe but as it’s only going to be used as a decorative plate that does not matter.

The photos were taken quickly in my studio and so are not the highest quality, but give a good idea of what they look like.

That’s 2 down and 10 more plates to go!

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

I'd love to hear your comments!

