Behind the scenes – Pages and Patterns from a Sketch Book – Ma’at Silk 

Here are some behind the scenes photos. My sketch books are some of my best friends, I love them and always carry one about with me. Every year I get a new one, so the pile is steadily growing. It a great way to look back on the year before and see all the work you’ve done, perhaps to remind your self in a “down” moment that it’s all worth while in the end.

I love filling the pages with bright colour (yes I know I must sound like a small child 🙂 and I am almost afraid to count how many packs of pens I get through.  I draw everything is these, custom order designs, new ideas, ancient art studies, flower studies or just plain doodles – I often draw whilst watching a film after diner. Most don’t get as far as the silk scarves or notebook covers but they’re there waiting for something one day – even if it’s just to give me a pick me up or dash of inspiration.

In way I think sketch books (and notebooks for that matter) can be very personal, as I know I often draw without a purpose, just letting the pen trail over the paper. I know that means that my head is full of spills and odd shapes, but that’s not too bad. Do you have a sketch book? What sort of things do you draw?

Sketch Book Page - Study of Minoan Art - Ma'at Silk

Sketch Book Page – Study of Minoan Art – Ma’at Silk

Sketches for Custom Order - 90x90 cm Silk Scarf - Ma'at Silk

Sketches for Custom Order – 90×90 cm Silk Scarf – Ma’at Silk

Coloured Patterns - Ma'at Silk

Coloured Patterns – Ma’at Silk

Pencil Sketches for Pin Cushions - Ma'at Silk

Pencil Sketches for Pin Cushions – Ma’at Silk

My pile of sketch books - Ma'at Silk

My pile of sketch books – Ma’at Silk

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

2 thoughts on “Behind the scenes – Pages and Patterns from a Sketch Book – Ma’at Silk 

I'd love to hear your comments!

