Hand painted silk cushions – Throw Pillow – Ma’at Silk

Although these decorative cushions have been in shop since I opened I have never posted them here on my blog. These are one of my favourite products and I have made a few for family as presents and some for my own room. Each would make a bright addition to a bed or sofa. The silk cover has been hand painted on one side and they backed with a think cotten fabric. The pillows have no zips and are stuffed with artificial fibres. They are all 35×35 cm approx.  Which do you like best?

They were all inspired by different styles and patterns from around the world.

“Indian Evening”Hand painted silk cushion – Ma’at Silk http://www.maatsilk.com

 

“Indian Morning” Hand painted silk cushion – Ma’at Silk http://www.maatsilk.com

The floral and plant-like design was inspired by Indian ornamentation, partially the decoration in the Taj Mahal. From books I was able to studying the detail and amazing craftsmanship that went into the decorating of that magnificent building.

“Sultan” Hand painted silk cushion – Ma’at Silk http://www.maatsilk.com

This swirly and floral pattern has echoes of Arabian ornamentation, Turkish in particular. I love the swirls and clash of turquoise and yellow.

“Oriental” Hand painted silk cushion – Ma’at Silk http://www.maatsilk.com

This geometric pattern was echoes of Oriental ornamentation, Chinese in particular. I was inspired by reading through design books and after looking for so long at the strength and vividness of the patterns, felt impelled to design something myself.

“Arizona Evening” Hand painted silk cushion – Ma’at Silk http://www.maatsilk.com

“Arizona Morning” Hand painted silk cushion – Ma’at Silk http://www.maatsilk.com

These last two designs have used both patchwork and modern elements, using rectangles of spots, stripes and flowers. I was inspired to create this design by the quilts room at the American Museum (Bath, England). The time, patience and care spent on creating each quilt, was breath-taking. This design also has elements of Spanish Flamenco fabrics.

That’s it for this week! Have a creative day!

M

FIN

 

4 thoughts on “Hand painted silk cushions – Throw Pillow – Ma’at Silk

  1. Marilyn Mastine says:

    My favourite is Indian Morning I like the softness of the colours which match the feel of silk -its like I can touch it.

    • MaatSilk says:

      Thank you Marilyn!
      I loved designing the Indian design, so much that I has to paint two cushions. The gentle colours match the soft floral shapes and create (I hope) a balance of colour and harmony.

I'd love to hear your comments!

