The Wishing Bag- Spring – Number Six – Interview with Wave of Light – Handmade Origami and Original Art – Last Shop in Series

Spring Shops Banner copy

Spring is in the air and so I went to see WaveOf Light

Original watercolor A4 – Love Tree – Free shipping by WaveofLight

 

Soft colours, swirling lines and boundless energy. A tree of life. It’s heart beating in the centre. The lines of the trunk flow down like a river and end with wave-like roots, spreading and curling outwards.  Multi coloured rays of light emanate from the centre. Peaceful and serene.

This drawing sums up all I love about spring and so brings a wonderful finale to this series.

WaveofLight opened in spring 2012 and it’s owner and designer Svetlana comes from Ukraine.  Her shop is full of original paintings and origami decor, all filled with healing energy reiki.  When searching through this shop I was struck by the spring-like atmosphere, the soft colours and (as Svetlana herself says) waves of healing energy. I love origami and seeing this shop has made me want to try it myself, although I doubt I’ll ever reach the skill of Svetlana.  Everything she makes is wonderful. I think any of the hanging ornaments would be lovely in any room of the house, personally I would choose a pink or blue one to hang above my bed. To catch dreams and thoughts and to guard against the shadows. My favourites are however the paintings, the purple Irises and the Love Tree.  WaveofLight is a perfect name for this shop. Light comes from everything.

In Spain we don’t really have the four normal seasons. Just a long dry summer and a wet (and slighty colder) period. Most of the trees are evergreens and the ones that do lose their leaves, do so in the summer when they are shriveled into dust by the sun.  Spring lasts about a month, just after the rain and before the hot sun. It’s beautiful. Hillsides covered in wild flowers, sunny barmy picnic weather, bees, sweet fragrance. Even though it’s at least several weeks till Spring, I decided to celebrate my favorite time of year with a series of shops.  Everyone has their own way of viewing their art, colours and feelings on Spring, so I look forward to all the different answers.  Lets see what Svetlana says!

Interview with Svetlana,

Origami modern decor – Kusudama “Sun rays” , orange grey paper home decoration

What led you to drawing and your art?

I am engaged in different kinds of art. Every kind of art was a certain stage in my life. I have painted since early childhood. Nobody taught me then. I intuitively knew how to do it. Then I studied in art school and the university. Then I got into the hands of Soviet Zenit camera and studied photography at various teachers. I started to learn origami by accident, and began to teach kids origami and drawing. Kids love paper crafts 🙂
I draw for 20 years, photograph during 5 years and make paper ornaments 4 years.
None of my hobbies does not interfere with the other, but rather helps to develop aesthetic skills.

Easter gift – Origami set: paper ball and box – Spring in my heart – green, yellow by WaveofLight

Inspiration?

The biggest inspiration I get in nature and reiki energy.
Over time I began to understand that important is not only external beauty, but also our inner beauty. I wanted to make my products are not only pleasing to the eye, but also the soul. I began to learn from one spiritual teacher to know myself and my capabilities. She hinted to me that I am as artist can pawn information to my picture and help some soul from the angels.
Then there was a meeting with another remarkable woman. She taught me to work with Reiki energy, which can heal the body and soul.. Now I can fill my art products with this energy and it will be useful for everyone.
.
.
.
.
.

Irises – Original Painting – Free shipping worldwide

Are colours important to your work? If so which are the ones you use most and why?

All colors are symbolic. I love purple, the color of cosmos, spirituality and sexuality. By the way purple paper in origami – a rarity, it is difficult to find 🙂 I order Korean paper, there are rare colors.

But when I paint, I plan one color and pattern and get other 🙂 Picture – a conversation with yourself. The less logic, the more images and colors emerges from the our subconscious. Interestingly, when the task of the university to draw a portrait of a man sitting in front of you, each painted their owner mood. As a result, got completely different portraits of one man. Every portrays himself in color, figure, character lines.

.

Strawberry in dew – A4 photo print – green, red – St. Patricks day

Do you have a favorite product in your shop?

All are my favorite 🙂
Only if there is one work ..
When I first met my fiance, I hold the canvas on which later painted a family of elephants. These elephants have become symbolic for me. I will not show anyone. Now this picture in my bedroom.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

What do you like best about Spring?

I really like in the spring my birthday in 5 march 🙂 and day of all women’s in 8 march. Also I love first blossom in our beautiful nature. It’s great time make photography. I plan to go to the forest, take pictures of the first snowdrops.
Blog Image

Origami by WaveofLight

Thank you Svetlana from WaveofLight!

Don’t forget to check out the Shop and you can also find WaveofLight on Facebook and Svetlana also has a shop where she sells photographic prints: see LightPrint07

That’s it for this series! I can’t belive it’s over already. Six weeks gone, six wonderful shops shared with you all and Spring has just about arrived – well here at least.

Thank you everyone for reading!

And a special thank you note to Joy, Vicki, Denise and Meg for reading and commenting on this series. I really appreciate your thoughts and time. Thank you so much ladies!

I’ll be back next week with a set of Mother’s Day gift ideas from my shop.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

One thought on “The Wishing Bag- Spring – Number Six – Interview with Wave of Light – Handmade Origami and Original Art – Last Shop in Series

I'd love to hear your comments!

