The Wishing Bag – Spring – Number Five – Interview with Gilgulim – Handmade Fabric Jewelry

Spring Shops Banner copy

Spring is in the air and so I went to see Gilgulim

Fuchsia orange leaves fabric earrings by Gilgulim

Bright colours moving in the air. Dancing fast and fluid. In time to a stong and powerful rhythm. They shimmer and shake. Moving to and fro. Bouncing from one end of the room to the other. Lifting life just a little bit off the ground. The music is everywhere, following the wind and the colours flutter in and out of every ray of light. Stories  flying around on the wind. History bowing in with the sand from a far away desert. Life is movement.  Life in a moment of colour.

These earings make a bold statement. They are unusual, they lift your spirits and when you look in the mirror they being extra life to your outfit. That description could describe everything in Gilgulim.

If you have an extra minute, have a read of her about page, it sums up the feel of her shop far better than I am doing here. 

Gilgulim opened summer 2009 and its owner and designer Hagar Arnon Elbaz comes from Jerusalem, Israel. Her shop is full of fabric jewelry:  earings, necklaces, and brooches among other things. She even sells fabric beads as supplies. What struck me when I first viewed the shop (apart from the colours) was how unusual it was. I had never seen fabric jewelry before and within a couple of minutes of browsing through her listings, I was sold. On the whole I don’t own or wear much jewelry and I often find metal too cold against my skin, especially round my neck (of course pearls are the exception to this ). When I do wear something, I like it to be unusual, a statement to how I feel. In the last year I’ve been trying to wear bolder and brighter colours, to break away from too many drab clothes. Not very easy as my colouring really suits browns and greys. So I’ve made a comprise (I have too or I would end up going around looking like an over bright rainbow) and I’ve taken to adding a tiny bit of colour: a scarf, tie or piece of jewelry to lift the outfit. This shop is perfect for that. It’s fun, its feminine, its modern, it’s vert pretty, it’s unusual. Who could ask for anything more?

In Spain we don’t really have the four normal seasons. Just a long dry summer and a wet (and slighty colder) period. Most of the trees are evergreens and the ones that do lose their leaves, do so in the summer when they are shriveled into dust by the sun.  Spring lasts about a month, just after the rain and before the hot sun. It’s beautiful. Hillsides covered in wild flowers, sunny barmy picnic weather, bees, sweet fragrance. Even though it’s at least several weeks till Spring, I decided to celebrate my favorite time of year with a series of shops.  Everyone has their own way of viewing their art, colours and feelings on Spring, so I look forward to all the different answers.  Lets see what Hagar says!

Interview with Hagar

Queen of Sheba statement fiber necklace by Gilgulim

What led you to using fabric and jewellery?

I have a very special love for textiles. Fiber is woven into our lives as was into generations of mankind before us. I am deeply touched by crafts that carry with them knowledge and wisdom built from the creativity and accumulated experience of generations before me. Furthermore, fabric represents immense beauty, diversity and the development of our culture. Wow! What richness!
But why do I use textiles in jewelry?
I am a seeker of alternatives. New options give me the possibility to choose, to be subversive and to be free. Therefore I created a new way that combines my love of jewelry, my adoration for textiles and a new and original way to express myself in a way that is all mine.

.

Exceptional modern fiber bracelet in colorful polka dot print by Gilgulim

What’s your favourite or most rewarding part of your process?

First searching for new/reclaimed fabrics and imagining the final product and then combining the fiber beads with other beads, ribbons, stones…The game of color and texture is my great love.

.

.

.

.

.

Big Art Nouveau origami fabric dangles by Gilgulim

Are colours important to your work? If so which are the ones you use most and why?

Color is very important in my work. But I am not sure I can separate it from texture and transparencies; color is so relative and depends on reciprocity. Color looks so different on each woman because of the very specific shade of her skin, color changes when different lights fall on it or when next to it there is a transparent bead.
I use all colors, I love them all.

.

.

.

.

Do you have a favorite product in your shop?

I really love them all. If you insist on a favorite, I adore creating brooches. It is like making a little painting using fabrics…

Kimono inspired sunrise fabric brooch by Gilgulim

.

What do you like best about Spring?

Israeli spring is so short it is like a mirage. The bright green shades and colorful flowers that cover the dry earth are like a new miracle every year. I look at it very carefully to remember this huge beauty before facing nine rain less, dry and hot months again. For a very short time our surroundings look like the Garden of Eden.

Urban style mixed fiber and glass necklace in natural shades by Gilgulim

Thank you Hagar from Gilgulim!

That’s it for the second in this series.  Don’t forget to check out the Shop and you can also find Gilgulim on Facebook and have a look their Blog.

Check back next Saturday for the last shop in this series!

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

2 thoughts on “The Wishing Bag – Spring – Number Five – Interview with Gilgulim – Handmade Fabric Jewelry

  1. Vicki says:

    Another wonderful interview with an inspiring artist! As I read through this interview, I realized that I not only loved reading about the artist’s work and creative process, but also how different the spring is in each artist’s country. What a wonderful geographic and climate connection!

    • MaatSilk says:

      That’s exactly why I wanted to ask the “Spring” question. I also love how the climate varies from country to country. I am glad you do too! Thank you Vicki.

I'd love to hear your comments!

