The Wishing Bag – Spring – Number One – Interview with DamsonTreePottery – Handmade Ceramic Artist

Spring Shops Banner copy

Spring is in the air and so I want to see Damson Tree Pottery 

Colourful daisy earrings big ceramic daisies stud posts or clip ons – Damson Tree Pottery –

.

A collection of tiny flowers, the type that nest in the palm of your hand , resting together for a precious moment before the wind blows them away. Picked on spring mornings, when birds are singing, the bees buzzing and the sun warm again after a cold winter. In gloomy days, filled with chill winds and early sunsets, comes suddenly and if by some magic these little rays of colours to brighten up your day.

I had to chose these as my featured image. They sum up what I love best about Spring: the bright colours!

For my first shop of this series I’d like to introduce you all this lovely shop, filled head to toe with ceramics. Damson Tree Pottery opened in the early autumn of 2011 (a Esty veteran compared to me) and is based in London, England. As you will see below it’s owner and designer Marieanne has been  working with pottery and clay for some time. The shop sells a variety of different ceramics, ranging from hair slides, rings and other accessories to bowls, coasters and tiles. As I looked round her shop, it was almost like walking round a garden. Nots just flowers everywhere, but there are the lily pads which you might have found floating in a small pond, the leaves of a trailing ivy plant and the blossom of a cherry tree. All handmade, painted, glazed, fired in a kiln. The skill of the artist evident in each piece. All perfect gift ideas for her. Um . . .  and Mothers day is coming up. . .  ?

In Spain we don’t really have the four normal seasons. Just a long dry summer and a wet (and slighty colder) period . Most of the trees are evergreens, the ones that do lose their leaves, do so in the summer when they are shriveled into dust by the sun.  Spring lasts about the month, just after the rain and before the hot sun. It’s beautiful. Hillsides covered in wild flowers, sunny barmy picnic weather, bees, sweet fragrance. Even through its at least several weeks till Spring, I decided to celebrate my favorite time of year with a series of shops.  Everyone has their own way of viewing their art, colours and feelings on Spring, so I look forward to all the different answers.  Lets see what Marianne says!

Interview with Marieanne

Blossom ceramic bowl creamy ceramic pink blossom serving bowl fruit bowl Sakura MADE TO ORDER – Damson Tree Pottery

 What led you to ceramics and pottery?

I always loved playing with clay and made tiny pots from terracotta scraped from behind the classroom. I really discovered my love for ceramics when 19 yrs old and in hospital after a breakdown. They had a pottery where I spent as much time as possible. I found that working with clay helped me get better and realised I wasn’t so useless after all!
When recovered, I continued with pottery classes, bought my own wheel and kiln and got a job as a sculptor.

.

.

.

Heart bobby pins 2 cute red or pink glazed ceramic hair pins, Valentine’s Day – Damson Tree Pottery

 What’s your favourite or most rewarding part of your process?

It is sooooo exciting to open the kiln after glaze firing and see the beautiful colours of the glazes! The experiments that are better than thought possible and the inevitable disasters!
.

.

Inspiration?

I’m inspired by the beauty of nature and the creativity of my students, especially the kids!
.

Lily pad coaster with flower ceramic green leaf summer time Waterlily green emerald, gift for her – Damson Tree Pottery

.

Are colours important to your work? If so which are the ones you use most and why?

 As you can see I’m a massive fan of many colours! These are just a reflection of the beauty all around us. My favourite colour is the turquoise blue crackle glaze which I use for the sky around the cherry blossoms..

.

.

.

.

Do you have a favourite product in your shop?

 My favourite product has got to be the cherry blossom tiles. One of the happiest moments in my work is opening the kiln to find these!

Handmade ceramic tiles 12 pink cherry blossoms turquoise sky kitchen bathroom Sakura MADE TO ORDER – Damson Tree Pottery.

What do you like best about Spring?

This is a very tricky question as I love Spring so much!
I love the delicate yet strong beauty of the cherry blossoms and the delight of working outside with the birds singing so happily around me!

Thank you Marieanne from Damson Tree Pottery!

That’s it for the first in this series.  Don’t forget to check out the Shop and you can also find DamsonTreePottery on Facebook.

Check back next Saturday for the next shop in this series!

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

2 thoughts on “The Wishing Bag – Spring – Number One – Interview with DamsonTreePottery – Handmade Ceramic Artist

I'd love to hear your comments!

