Introducing Silk Paintings. Two New Listings – “Jazz Band” and “The Singer”

In my post today, I want to introduce everyone to this new range of silk paintings. Live in my shop as I write They began when I bought a selection of different size silk scarves from my craft suppliers. One by one I found a use and home for each of the four sizes, untill I was left with 28x28cm square – handkerchief size.  I had already had comments from customers that they would might frame their scarves and hang like a painting on the wall, so the seeds were planted in my mind.  This small size seemed perfect. Light, easy to frame and small enough so that it can fit in any room, in any size house.  I drew out some sketches and begun painting. Lucky I had no disasters (paint drying too fast, gutta smudging). The whole process is the same as painting my usual silk, just smaller. My very first painting I did was the present I sent out this Christmas , in my role as Secret Santa. I drew the below design, but coloured it with custom colours just for her.  I love doing custom designs and orders. I hope to get to do lots more this year.

Here are the first two silk paintings “Jazz Band” and “The Singer”.

.

“Jazz Band” Hand painted silk by Ma’at.

“Hear the beat. Feel the heat. High and low. To and fro. The skins. The base. The horn. The keys. All playing A to A. Z to Z. Mixing and twisting. New things. Old things. Wailing with the horn. Drumming with the sticks. Playing the blues. Strumming the reds. Clapping of hands. Tapping of feet. Everything to the beat. Never too old. Always in style. Jazz.”

.

.

.

.

.

.

“The Singer” Hand painted silk by Ma’at

.

.

“Purple roses held in hand. Heart beat high. The curtain rises once more. A sea of faces and movement. Nothing is very clear. Applause drowns all else. Strangers. Yet all untitled in one thought. Flowers fly though the sky. Colours cover the stage. She bows low. Again and again. The highest height had been reached. Time blurs over. When everyone else had gone, she stands alone on the stage. Looking out at the rows of velvet. She can still hear the music. She always will. Time may erase her name, as it does all else. But not the music. Many a performer will hear it anew. That melody will linger on. ”

.

.

.

Both of these designs are floral and more abstract in thought at least. The narratives came completely from the colours.  The bright yellow, brown and pink reminded me of (as the title says) jazz. I love listening to jazz, especially 1940s era big bands. And the sound of Harry Jame’s trumpet was in my head as I painted that yellow. As for the other I have always loved going to the theatres. Especially the grand old open that you find in cities, like Paris or London. I often think of the many performers and acts those theatres have seen over the years and the different melodies played. The colours in this scarf represents a singer, the brown is her hair, the blue her dress and the purple the flowers she holds.

After finishing and fixing the silk, I found some really lovely boxes to box the scarves up in – I love the fact you can still see the silk inside.

“The Singer” in box – Ma’at Silk

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Plus we farmed one and hung up on a wall so everyone could get an idea of how it might look in their house.

“Jazz Band” framed – Ma’at Silk

That’s all for today, I’ll write again next Tuesday – I think Tuesday’s work rather well.

Have a creative day

M

FIN

3 thoughts on “Introducing Silk Paintings. Two New Listings – “Jazz Band” and “The Singer”

  1. Santa says:

    So pretty! Your scarves are so dreamy and delicate, and I love the little transparent boxes – such a thoughtful detail that enhances your brand. 🙂

    • MaatSilk says:

      Thank you so much Santa!
      I also loved the boxes for just that reason. I think it’s the “dreamy” quality of silk that gives me the inspiration behind the words that accompany each scarf. Silk has such a long history and so many legends and tales around it.

      I’ve just had a peak at your work and I love your lace ties! It’s a great and unusual (well I’ve never seen it before) mix, but I think it works really well. The bright colour and the gentle white lace (I liked the gold tie best). Seeing all your perfect ties reminded me of my attempts last year to paint silk ties. The front was fine but it all went very wrong when I got to the back. At least I have a couple of brightly coloured ties that I can wear. So perhaps not a complete loss.

      Maisie

      • Santa says:

        Aw thank you Maisie! 🙂
        My boyfriend’s obsessed with ties, so I wanted to get him a lace tie for his birthday and couldn’t believe my eyes when nothing came up in search! I figured that somebody should fill the gap in the market :),
        Painting in general can go terribly wrong, so I can imagine that painting on silk is even worse! I signed up for a silk painting club when I was 14… we did all sorts of painting, but the school year ended before we got to silk! Such a shame, I’d love to know how to do it.

I'd love to hear your comments!

