12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Eleven

12 shops for christmas banner

On the Eleventh day of Christmas I went to see: ShopPretties

Green peridot necklace August birthstone White pearl single strand genuine gemstone necklace Gold vermeil beaded necklace Beaded jewelry

Green. Just a wonderful sparkling green. Cool, like a summer cocktail,  the leaves of a young plant or some very stylish frog. Strange thoughts in the middle of winter but there it is. I loved the colour in this piece and I could not resist the set of images that entered my head, nor the way gold light is reflected on the sides of the beads. But as my favorite – if I was going to wear a piece – I think it would be the heart-shaped earings below. Only one problem: there are no holes in my ears but I still love the shape and the rose-pink.

ShopPretties has been open just over two years and it’s owner and designer, Deb, hails from Georgia USA (the moment I read Georgia, all I could think off was Gone with the Wind – which if I remember correctly is the setting for most of the novel/film). Deb has been making jewelry for over ten years.  Looking at her shop is like entering Ali Baba’s cave or opening a chest of buried pirate treasure.  This must be because the shop sells a huge variety of sparkling  jewelry, including necklaces, bracelets and earings. Debs uses lots of different gemstones, glass beads,  Swarovski crystals and lamp work beads, just to name a few. On her “about page” she has a picture of her work bench. I think it’s the best I’ve seen so far. I wish I had a set of containers like that! At the moment , anyone with last-minute Christmas shopping to do – she is offering free gift wrap and shipping to the US.  There is plenty of choice.  So have a look!

When looking at artists and their work, I always end up thinking about where they got the inspiration, what part did they liked best, what led them to their art and so on.  As I am painting silk I think of the colours, deciding which to use, balancing dark with light and loving the way they spread across the fabric. I’ve decided to ask each of the featured shops the same six questions.  I am really excited to see the answers; some may be similar whilst others may vary enormously. Everyone has their own way of working and viewing their art, so the answers should be very interesting. Let’s see what Deb says!

.

Interview with Deb

Layered necklace Multistrand emerald green rust purple semi precious gemstone necklace Multi strand gold vermeil and lampwork beaded jewelr

.

What led you to stones and jewelry making?

I suspect it might be a birth defect. I’ve always been attracted to shiny sparkly things. At one point in my career I was the fashion jewelry buyer for Norstroms, which was fabulous!

Years ago when I lived outside Washington DC I would visit the gem room at the Smithsonian and drool over all the sparkles for hours at a time. Then, after I had my daughter, and it became socially acceptable for an adult to play with glitter, I took advantage of that opportunity,too! About 10 years ago I was in a craft store looking for some other things, and found beads. They were shiny and sparkly and I fell in love. It wasn’t long before I discovered I could find higher quality beads, and hand crafted glass, and pearls, and crystals and gemstone and gorgeous metals. I’ve been a goner ever since..

.

.

Pink crystal heart earrings Boho gold long chandelier earrings Swarovski crystal dangle earrings Beaded jewelry Enduring Hearts

What is your favourite part or what do you like best about your art or process?

I simply enjoy playing with the materials to discover new combinations. I rarely plan anything out in advance. Sometimes I will have a color combo in mind, but as I go along and collect possible materials to use, I generally find my original idea morphs into something else entirely. My work space is always a disaster ares (to anyone else looking at it) because I keep beads out that I want to find an unusual way to use, and I don’t want to forget them. Sort of an inspiration stash that changes over time and is always out and in sight.

.

.

.

.

Copper rust necklace Colorful Murano bead necklace Single strand pearl necklace Venetian glass beaded jewelry Bridal Mother of bride groo

.

.

Inspiration?

Almost everything. I get ideas for color combinations from the garden, the beach, magazine ads, art….. The woman I have in mind is someone who probably has a career, and wants to express her individuality in her accessories. She is confident, stylish but not necessarily trendy, and doesn’t want the same thing that everyone else has. She is my true inspiration.

.

.

.

.

.

Teal lampwork shell necklace Chunky multi strand necklace Blue green multistrand statement necklace Gemstone beaded jewelry.

.

.

Do you ever have music on when you work? (I like this question because I always do, in fact I can’t work without it).

Not now, but on my wish list for Christmas is one of those teeny tiny iPods that I can clip on my shirt and bop along while I work.

.

.

Do you have a favourite product in your shop?

That is like asking if I have a favorite child.

.

.

.

Bold crystal pendant necklace Grey and black leather necklace Eco friendly Modern statement beaded jewelry Christmas holiday Free shipping

.

And finally what would be your “dream” Christmas gift to receive? 

A large space complete with all sorts of new tools. I’d like to get into metalworking, metal clay, enamel, and a few other things. Right now I have no space for anything. But other than that very practical wish, my dream wish would be to receive a wonderful collection of extraordinary gemstones, unset, that I could just look at and be amazed. And a maid. Maybe a cook.

Thank you ShopPretties

That’s it for the eleventh in this series.  One left to go! Don’t forget to check out the shop!

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/ShopPretties

A big thank you to Deb for taking the time to answer all my questions.  I have also set up a Pinterest board for all the featured images. You can see it by following my Pinterest link at the top of the page.

Although I am not as yet working too much with beads, I absolutely love going to the haberdashery shop in town. I can spend ages in the beads and ribbons section. Not really buying very much but like Deb described starring and becoming completely transfixed. It my case I know it’s the shimmering colours!

I have a iPod and I carry it around with me all the time when I am working – having to use a small set of portable speakers when my ears start to hurt. I really hope Deb gets hers for Christmas, it’s a great gift for any artist.

Please keep reading this series. Check back later this week for the twelfth shop for Christmas.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

2 thoughts on “12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Eleven

  1. Enzie Shahmiri says:

    I own several of Shop Pretty jewelry pieces and just love them. The quality and design is wonderful and I have been complimented on the pieces many times. What a beautiful write up for a great jewelry creator!

I'd love to hear your comments!

