12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Ten

12 shops for christmas banner

On the Tenth day of Christmas I went to see: AGirlAnOwlAnd ACat

Whimsical Landscape, Colorful Scene, Fantasy Landscape, Pink And Black Wall Decor, Kids Room Decor by Paula DiLeo

The swirling colours make this picture look as if it’s animated. The road travels like a river, twisting and winding with the land and then disappearing out of view. The sun has circles of light emulating from the centre, contrasting and lighting the deep black of the hills. Little houses rightly coloured houses are dotted around. And in one corner a tiny swing and ladder are set up in a (perhaps apple) tree, ready no doubt for children’s play. I wonder where this is? Whimsical is a prefect word for this picture.  Like a scene out of a children’s book. Perhaps an old folk tale. I’d rather like to turn the page and read more.

AGirlAnOwlAndACat has been open nearly two years and it’s owner and designer Paula, comes from California, USA.  The shop sells a large collection on Paula’s wonderful artwork, mostly available as prints but there is also a range of greeting cards. Paula use a variety of different techniques in her mixed media art, including colored pencil, archival ink, and oil pastel. Without a doubt it was the colours that drew to this shop. There is so much of it? No white in sight, just lots of deep, bright and strong colour.  The other thing that is impossible to miss in Paula’s work are the eyes. They are huge, often with long ladylike lashes. The eyes look straight at you! I sure that the cat below has something he wants to say. Take me home for Christmas. Mewow. . .

When looking at artists and their work, I always end up thinking about where they got the inspiration, what part did they liked best, what led them to their art and so on.  As I am painting silk I think of the colours, deciding which to use, balancing dark with light and loving the way they spread across the fabric. I’ve decided to ask each of the featured shops the same six questions.  I am really excited to see the answers; some may be similar whilst others may vary enormously. Everyone has their own way of working and viewing their art, so the answers should be very interesting. Let’s see what Paula says!

Interview with Paula

.

.

Cat Print, Pink Cat Art, Funny Cat Art, Polka Dot, Girls Room Decor, Pink Girl Art, Funny Cat Print, Princess by Paula DiLeo

What led you to drawing? 

I have always drawn, ever since I was able to hold a crayon in my hands. My first drawing were of people and faces – still a favorite of mine to draw.

.

What is your favourite part or what do you like best about your art or process?

What I like best about my art is that it is happy, colorful and I try to emanate a feeling of joy and love through the eyes, expressions and whimsical touches that I give the art. My favorite part of creating my art is coming up with new discoveries when I mix different media or when I come up with a new character.

.

.

.

.

Owl Decor, Nursery Art Print, Paisley Owl, Kids Wall Art, Childrens Room Art,Bird Print by Paula DiLeo

Inspiration?

The inspiration for my art is found through many of the wonderful artists on Etsy, I love Frida Kahlo’s work, and I am drawn to any whimsical art that makes me smile.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Mermaid Print, Whimsical Art Print, Blue Decor, Girls Room Decor, Mermaid Art Blue Mermaid by Paula DiLeo_050110

Do you ever have music on when you work? (I like this question because I always do, in fact I can’t work without it).

When I work I either have the TV on or music. I hate to admit it but I am addicted to reality TV shows. And for music Pandora on the computer is great to listen to!

.

.

Do you have a favourite piece of art in your shop?

 I really can’t say I have a favorite piece in my shop. I like certain ones for different reasons. Usually the one I’m working on is my favorite – until I create another piece!

.

.

.

.

.

Egyptian Princess, Whimsical Girl Print, Colorful Print, Art For Girls, Girls Room Decor, Kids Wall Art by Paula DiLeo

.

And finally what would be your “dream” Christmas gift to receive? 

My dream Xmas present would be a trip – I love to travel! I actually did get this one Xmas from my husband. It was our cruise ship itinerary that he stuffed into an envelope. I was so excited – I had never been on a cruise before!

.

Thank you AGirlAnOwlAndACat

That’s it for the tenth in this series.  Don’t forget to check out the shop!

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/AGirlAnOwlAndACat

I like what Paula says about her favourite piece being the one she is working on, it is often the same with me. Of course I often get attached to the art I’m working on, so letting it go is very hard! When I was child the first thing I drew was people, women mostly, although Paula’s first sketches have evolved into fantastic art, mine didn’t. They were dreadful and stayed dreadful! This is why I stick to patterns.

A big thank you to Paula for taking the time to answer all my questions.  I have also set up a Pinterest board for all the featured images. You can see it by following my Pinterest link at the top of the page.

Please keep reading this series. Check back next week for the eleventh shop for Christmas.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

I'd love to hear your comments!

