12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Eight

12 shops for christmas banner

On the eighth day of Christmas I went to see ShuliDesigns

Set of 3 small unique dreidels, colorful spinning tops, polymer clay rainbow dreidels, great Hanukkah gift idea, toy for all

SPLASH! A rainbow of colours hit my screen and danced around, spinning in circles. Faster and faster they went, till I was dizzy and the world had become one big kaleidoscope.  I remember once queuing to get into a museum on a rainy day and seeing a sea of different coloured umbrellas stretch out before me. Instead now I see a sea of spinning tops or dreidel. I loved these the moment I saw them. Not just the array of bright colours but the swirling texture of the clay. Plus of course that tiny bit of glitter.

ShuliDesigns opened Spring last year and it’s owner and designer is based in Timrat, Israel.  The shop sells a variety of colourful objects, dreidels, beads, jewellery and wall decor in the form of wise looking owls with big eyes, sets of birds and  lucky fish. All made out of Polymer clay. The shop’s about page has some fascinating photos of the process, coils of coloured clay being rolled out and a desk laid out with rows and rows of her small red pomegranates. I often like looking at the “behind the scenes” pictures just as much as the finished product.  It’s a bit like watching the making of a movie. I’d love to have one of the above dreidels, not to do any thing with, but just to have and put on my desk. I couldn’t quite bring myself to buy myself a present , especially so close to Christmas, so I bought my brother one instead. A black and white version. He’s so hard to buy for. You all know what boys can be like. . . And think of these tiny gifts when filling up the stockings!

When looking at artists and their work, I always end up thinking about where they got the inspiration, what part did they liked best, what led them to their art and so on.  As I am painting silk I think of the colours, deciding which to use, balancing dark with light and loving the way they spread across the fabric. I’ve decided to ask each of the featured shops the same six questions.  I am really excited to see the answers; some may be similar whilst others may vary enormously. Everyone has their own way of working and viewing their art, so the answers should be very interesting. Let’s see what Shuli says!

Interview with Shuli

Spring flower pendant, polymer clay flower, Millefiori flower in rich warm colors: red orange and yellow, gift for girls and women Spring flower pendant,

What led you to using Polymer clay? 

Since childhood I was working with ceramics. In the last 8 years I decided to concentrate in polymer clay because it allows getting endless colors combinations and patterns. With these colorful patterns I can develop new techniques and design many artistic pieces like beads, wall décor, HAMSAs and more.

.

..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Love owl wall decor, polymer clay elegant owl, wedding gift, a pair in maroon, green, orange, gold and red

What is your favourite part or what do you like best about your art or process?

The favorite part of the process is the planning and creating the prototype. First I have a sketch and general idea of what I want to create, and then I experiment with colors, patterns and techniques. I create a few models of the product and choose the best ones and from that I proceed to designing the final product. This process is very challenging and important because it leads me step by step to a meaningful product that justifies the endless trial and error hours process. Above all I favorite the recognition when an item gets positive feedbacks and becomes popular.

.

.

.

.

.

Dreidel in greens, green spinning top, polymer clay dreidel, great Hanukah gift idea, toy for all ages

Inspiration?

Living along the Mediterranean Sea and especially in the Middle East is very inspiring.
The colors of the sun and the sea, the green of the mountains and valleys alongside the yellow desert, the tastes of the wine, the smell of the local spices, the varies cultures and the rich history of the region are all rooted in me.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Wedding gift, wall decor love birds, Handmade love birds, Polymer clay birds, Bird couple with Blue, Turquoise, Green and Whit

.

Do you ever have music on when you work? (I like this question because I always do, in fact I can’t work without it).

Yes, of course, there is nothing as good as music in the background when I do what I love the most.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Do you have a favourite piece of art in your shop?

Yes, I do love my love birds, lucky fish, spinning-tops and colorful lentil beads because these 4 products are an outcome of a long trial and error process which led to very popular and successful products.

Wall decor fish white HAMSA, Handmade lucky fish, elegant fish of fortune with black, white, pearl, silver and greys, Pol

And finally what would be your “dream” Christmas gift to receive? 

I would like to have a professional polymer clay chopper and a good extruder.

Thank you ShuliDesigns .

That’s it for the eighth in this series. Don’t forget to check out the shop!

www.shulidesigns.etsy.com

Here are some more of Shuli Designs Links:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ShuliDesigns

Pinterest: pinterest.com/shulidesigns/

Wanelo: wanelo.com/shuliraanan

Twitter: twitter.com/ShuliDesigns

I love Shuli’s notes about living along the Mediterranean. I’ve often thought that the landscape, rolling hills dotted with olive trees, looks like a patch work quilt, covering the land. I like going to the local food market down here, hearing the shouting, seeing the bustle, the food and of course the smells (not always good I may add). But it’s all part of the atmosphere.

A big thank you to Shuli for taking the time to answer all my questions.  I have also set up a Pinterest board for all the featured images. You can see it by following my Pinterest link at the top of the page.

Please keep reading this series. Check back next week for the ninth shop for Christmas.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

6 thoughts on “12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Eight

  1. shulidesigns says:

    Thank you so much Maisie!!!
    I am very excited about the article and interview you published.
    It’s a great honor to be a part in your professional blog twelve shops project.

    Best regards,
    Shuli

I'd love to hear your comments!

