“Sunrise at Giza” and “Along the Nile”

Hi,

I thought it was about time for another post on my work. This is as they say, a catch up. These two scarves are not “brand new” and have been available on my shop since it opened. When I design a pattern, like the one seen in these, I usually plan a set of three colour ways. I don’t know why but I like working on odd numbers. The narratives that go with them also fit well into three. Every story had a beginning middle and end after all. Each scarf is a limited edition and I only make five of them. It can get a little complicated and I have to keep careful track which number I’m on. I do sign and number each scarf so that helps. Anyway this series is called “Travels In Egypt”.

.

Hand Painted Silk Scarf. "Sunrise at Giza". 90x90cm. Limited edition. Red, Yellow, Magenta and Pink. Original design by Ma'at.

Hand Painted Silk Scarf. “Sunrise at Giza”. 90x90cm. Limited edition. Red, Yellow, Magenta and Pink. Original design by Ma’at.

.

.

“It’s dawn. Darkness lies over the desert. Then the sun appears slowly, rising up from its journey through the under-world. It sends out rays of light, soft colours dancing over the sky. All is quiet, only the great pyramid greets the sun, waking the land for another day.”

.

.

.

.

Hand Painted Silk Scarf. "Along the Nile". 90x90cm. Limited edition. Blue, Grey, Turquoise, Green. Original Design by Ma'at.

Hand Painted Silk Scarf. “Along the Nile”. 90x90cm. Limited edition. Blue, Grey, Turquoise, Green. Original Design by Ma’at.

.

.“The Nile. Waters rush forth on their journey. Cool and murky depths, where a crocodile or hippo sleeps the day away. Papyrus and rushes move in the breeze. The sand stirs restlessly on the banks. Small boats, casting out their nets move along with the river. All is motion.”

I have always loved the history of Ancient Egypt and its art. Egypt is a land covered with the remnants of its past, reminders of a powerful empire and civilisation that endured for thousands of years. Inspired by nature, they carved into pillars, painted the walls of tombs and covered the sides of temples. The pale blue lotus, long feathers from a bird, the green and stalky papyrus, the powerful sun and the moving waters of the Nile. This is the first in a set of ancient world cultures. I have several more in the pipeline but Egypt had to the be the first. We always have books on Egypt lying around the house, I’m a big history reader you see. One afternoon I sat down with a couple of books and sketched out this design. Once I had done that the images came at once, fulled by half remembered scenes from old movies, colourful hollywood egyptian sets and the myths surrounding the Nile. Even though it’s too hard to pick my favourite scarf design, I’ll always be proud of this one.

I have one more left to do. Um . . . Tombs I think.  “Voices from the Tombs”

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

Images and Text © Maat Silk.

Feel free to share on Pinterest, but if you would like to use an image please contact me.

2 thoughts on ““Sunrise at Giza” and “Along the Nile”

  1. artfromdreamland says:

    It’s so wonderful to discover your process, your inspirations, your states of mind while creating.
    Thank you for this sharing Maisie , your painted scarf are delightful, and there is so much signification around them 🙂

I'd love to hear your comments!

