12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Five

12 shops for christmas banner

On the fifth day of Christmas I went to see: ArtFromDreamland

Princess print, little girl print, kids wall art, children art print, fairy art , fairy tales art , princess art with flying rose petals 8×11

 

A little girl with her head stuck in a book. I think I know why I love this picture, probably because it reminds me of me. I always had my head stuck in a book and used to devour books, often late at night, with a touch under the bed covers. Although I doubt this lady here is having worry about waking her sisters up!

There is something wonderfully romantic about this picture. Not just the image its self but the feel, the  deep red colour of the flower petal that are flying around her, the wavy blue dress, and gold in her hair. It looks like it came out of a fairy tale, or better yet she is reading about one. I feel it belongs it a children picture book and I almost want to know her story.

ArtFromDreamland opened this autumn and it’s owner and designer come from Montpellier, France.  She describes herself, “a mad scientist, a witch ( a kind one ! ) , or a draftsman.” The shop sells a variety of wonderful illustrations, wall art, gift cards and digital downloads. The pictures paint fairy-tale pictures, a girl with branches in her hair, a bear and queen blowing bubble, a fairy afloat in the tea-cup. They really are Art from Dreamland. What little girl could resist one of these prints this Christmas, even I would love one to hang on my wall!

When looking at artists and their work, I always end up thinking about where they got the inspiration, what part did they liked best, what led them to their art and so on.  As I am painting silk I think of the colours, deciding which to use, balancing dark with light and loving the way they spread across the fabric. I’ve decided to ask each of the featured shops the same six questions.  I am really excited to see the answers; some may be similar whilst others may vary enormously. Everyone has their own way of working and viewing their art, so the answers should be very interesting. Let’s see what ArtFromDreamland says!

.

Interview with ArtFromDreamland

Snow queen and bear , winter , little girl print, christmas gift , fairy art , fairy tales , girl’s room , little girl decor , princess art

.

What led you to drawing and painting?

 As long as I can remember, i’ve always loved drawing. The funny thing is that when I was in grade school (about 9 years old), i was already drawing princesses. And my friends loved them and asked me custom drawings, in exchange of little toys or candies.
Then I saw the making-of Snow White from Walt Disney and decided to be a draftman for Walt Disneys studios. But the years passed and I was told it was better to make more “serious” stuffs for a living. So I did serious studies, wich led to a serious job, but that wasn’t a serious good life ^^. Now I’ve quitted everything serious, and do wonderful things I love ^^.
.

.

What is your favourite part or what do you like best about your art or process?

The best part of my process is when I let my imagination flow !

Children wall art, Kids wall art, Children art print , fairy tales art , fairytales girls art print, Tree girl portrait, tree hairs 8×11

.

.

Inspiration?

.
I’m inspired by nature (i love walking in the mountains ) films/ animated films (most of the time cute films like those of Miyazaki and Disney) , and books. I love watching for other artists too, through children’s books or internet.
.
.

.

.
.
.

.

.

Children art print, Little Fairy in a bowl, girl wall art, girl poster, kids wall art, nursery art, fairytale art, fairy tale, 8.5*11.5

.

Do you ever have music on when you work? (I like this question because I always do, in fact I can’t work without it).

I don’t know, because when I draw I forget everything around me 🙂

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Do you have a favourite piece of art in your shop?

Yes, I love the train in the sky with funny animals, it was my first big painting when I restarted to draw ^^

Baby shower gift , birthday gift , Animal train print, kids wall art , children art print , nursery art print , kids room

And finally, what would be your “dream” Christmas gift to receive?

My big dream is that my shop is succesful so I can live from doing non-serious but wonderful stuffs that I love 😀
Et voilà !
I’m sorry if my english is a little weak, I’m working on improving it ^^

Thank you ArtFromDreamland

That’s it for the fifth in this series.  Don’t forget to check out the shop!

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/ArtFromDreamland

I always think that something wonderful happens when you are so lost in what you are doing, that everything around you just fades away.  It’s almost magical and like meditating. It happens very rarely to me, but when it does my mind does feel lovely and clear.  Disney? I still love “The Little Mermaid”.

A big thank you to ArtFromDreamland for taking the time to answer all my questions.  I have also set up a Pinterest board for all the featured images. You can see it by following my Pinterest link at the top of the page.

Please keep reading this series. Check back later this week for the sixth shop for Christmas.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

2 thoughts on “12 Shops for Christmas – Shop Five

I'd love to hear your comments!

