“At Seven Pm” and “At Six Am”.

Hi

Here I am back again with my first post on scarves.

When I design a pattern, like the one seen in these, I usually plan a set of three colour ways. I don’t know why but I like working on odd numbers. The narratives that go with them also fit well into three. Every story had a beginning middle and end after all. Each scarf is a limited edition and I only make five of them. It can get a little complicated and I have to keep careful track which number I’m on. I do sign and number each scarf so that helps. Anyway this series is called “Night on the Town”.

At Seven PM. 90x90cm Hand Painted Silk ScarfThe clock has struck seven. The valet appears, always on time, tray in hand. Top hat and cane stand ready by the door. The bachelor sips the cocktail. The ice clinks in the glass. Chilled to perfection. The room is high in the sky. A familiar tune wafts on the air. All is set.

At Six Am. 90x90cm. Handpainted Silk Scarf

The party’s over. Confused and muddled, the bachelor stumbles back. Memories are few. Champagne is definite. Dancing likely. Marriage possible. Head splitting, speaking out of the question. Ahead lies salvation. The tall glass of cure held by the never changing valet. His eyebrow only ever so slightly raised. Such is the norm.

This design was inspired by art deco and particularly the films and literature of the 1930s. Glamorous, sleek and stylish where the black and white movie sets. Glossy and  yes often unrealistic, representing a fantasy trip, one with grace and flair for the dramatic and of course after a while the stories did look suspiciously alike.  But who gave any heed to the plot, when eyes where to busy watching the dancers as they tapped across a glass floor.  Accompanying them were the songs of Mr Porter and the wit of Mr Wodehouse. Who could ask for anything more?

As soon as I had art deco in my mind, in came the carefree bachelor on the town. The cool blue tones of the first scarf, seemed to me to be a martini cocktail, light and clear. Everything in order and ready. Then the second group of colours where perfect for the muddled headed, hangover mood of the next morning. At the moment I am missing a third scarf to complete this set. I am working on it at the moment, I’ll give one preview. It’s going to be called At Midnight.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

Images and Text © Maat Silk.

Feel free to share on Pinterest, but if you would like to use an image please contact me.

I'd love to hear your comments!

