Welcome!

Welcome!

“Fingers held over keys. Waiting for inspiration. Waiting. Waiting. Still waiting. Doubt running free in head. Ideas looking dim. Then words come. Slowly. Then faster and faster. Keys tapping. Lots of nonsense? Probably.

For me painting on silk and for that matter all my work, is art and more, it’s a thought, an idea, a feeling and most importantly is a story. Words accompany me as I design and paint the patterns. They are part of it all. The colours and design blend in my mind and an idea forms: of an image, a place, a time. Why?  I’m not sure but the narrative writing that accompanies each scarf is as important to me as the colours themselves.  It’s the setting and completes the scene.

Setting words (and a not really poetic beginning) aside for a moment, I should say that I’m an artist, working mostly on silk (scarves, cushions, ties ect) and sometimes on other fabrics and paper . At the moment my design style is the realm of patterns. Swirls, lines, circles, and various shapes of all kinds. I am inspired by all forms of nature, plants and weather formations in particular. The other big inspiration lake would be ancient art, I only have look at a book full of Minoan temples or Egyptian tombs and I am reaching for my sketch book.

At this present moment, (I almost want to say chapter, yes I think I will. It’s unusual). In this present chapter, I am selling my work through Etsy and hopefully soon another online retailer as well. To see more of my work, please have a look on Etsy or on my own website, where I have a gallery. Both will soon be linked in the side bar.

I’ll be posting and writing articles on different but related topics. My work and products I have for sale, as well as projects I am working on will feature some of the time. I want to do articles on inspiration and other art forms, techniques and styles, both historical and modern. I also hope to feature posts on some of the other wonderful artists I have seen working and creating. All in all, my aim is to post at least four times a month. My next post will be on a couple of my hand painted silk scarves, their narrative and inspiration.

I hope you’ll come back again from time to time, to read and have a look.

Have a creative day!

M

FIN

I'd love to hear your comments!

